eighteen

by Makola

اللهم ان رأيتني ابتعد عنك فردني اليك ردا جميلا

Allahuma in ra’aytani ebta’ed ank faradni ilayka raddan jameela
Oh Allah, if you see me getting farther away from you, return me to you in a beautiful way.

You were wondering where on earth have I vanished.

In a way, so was I.

Some updates involve rediscovering parts of the City of Lights, finding the lights in places I hadn’t dared to enter alone, and going back to the airport where it all began and possibly, where it all may end.

In other news, I’ve been eighteen officially for four days now.

The weather had been the first obvious sign; the rest followed both at home, school, and home again.

I mean, I could tell you a whole list of what happened after the clock struck 12 but not only would that be a rather long read, I don’t think I would do justice to it.

But for once, this birthday was not about me, it was not my day, it had little of me in it. I am very grateful for that.

Dear 17,

You are a brave girl and I am so thankful to have known you. I will write to you someday soon.

With love,

18.

P.S.  1. Upcoming posts will discuss: how facebook has evolved . Had it not been for family and friends and this unavoidable distance that has spanned out between us, I would have left a long time ago. For further proof please see how ridiculous this is:

But on the bright side, there are random happenings on facebook which can do more good than harm. There are still people who refuse to give in to the website’s evolving nature of becoming more of a tabloid than a network and there are people who ignore all the negativity and keep posting. That’s a struggle in itself. It’s true that feelings such as patriotism are still exploited and cashed into but if the intention behind it is pure, it really shows. And then there’s stuff which takes you by surprise, such as – WARNING: Shameless self-advertising ahead – Typewriter’s post for this Makola that you know.

