Beautiful

by Makola

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”
— Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

We built memories together. Do you remember how I laid the foundation and you cast the roof? We built them, that was we why we knew where the cracks were. Whenever someone would come to investigate or perhaps even just appreciate what we were working so happily on, I saw how your eyes strayed towards the cracks and how you bit at your lower lip, hoping no one would notice. I knew then that this is how it would be from now on. We would build sandcastles and you and I would ignore the presence of the crumbling walls, the irregular flooring, and the not-so-hollow tunnels.

I remember looking towards the vast expanse of blue, telling you how near the water was. We built ditches so that the ocean would not crash into the walls, would not wreak havoc, and would not cause the demarcations to dissolve.  It was hard being cheerful then. I marveled at how coolly you dug at the sand, your hands getting lapped with the cold inrush of water, mine still working on securing the boundaries.

Once the sea could not be avoided, I thought of how years ago I would have leaped back choking out laughter and perhaps some tears. But now, I was with you and I knew right then that no matter which storm struck, we would remain where we were as the ocean reached out and erased our sandcastle from the canvas of the world.

