Defined Freedom

by Makola

I found I could no longer say to the world, there’s nothing I can do to change this, so why think too hard about it? I still didn’t think there was anything I could do to change the situation, but now it felt like an abomination to pretend to live outside it.         -Kartography by Kamila Shamsie

You’ve all probably been plugged in to the news these past hours. The flotilla that couldn’t make it peacefully to Gaza, but still managed to make an impact. It still managed to deliver the message. Peace always will.

I think it’s JFK who said that it’s an unfortunate fact that we for peace we must prepare for war. Interesting isn’t it? Just this week I was watching the doha debates. ‘Women are superior to men’…. and how the panel agreed with pointless and yet powerful statements to the motion. It’s men who start the war, men who die, men who live to tell the tale. But it’s the women who they fight for. No, don’t immediately think of Helen of Troy when I say this. Don’t think of the fair ladies of the land.

Think of the women who’re at home, who’re the ones who ought to be protected. Think of the old people – men and women alike. the children all in Gaza. All with ‘no future’ according to the Turkish representative in UN.

We can be passionate on such topics. I am.

But we’ve got to get to the bottom of this.

Where does this end? How many people will have to die before we realize that too many have been killed?

People on the news try to make each other ‘look bad’.

Well. Are there any good ones left?

Anyone here watched the Dark Knight? I think it says it much more better than I ever will:

“You either die a hero or you live long enough to see yourself become the villain.”

