there’s a part of me that knows Palestine like it knows Pakistan. this is the part which loves it in the deepest of my conscious memories.

there’s a part of me wanting to be there, not just in spirit, but there. really there. there to help. there to do good. there to babysit. there to wash the blood and nurse the wounds. there to be at the frontline. there because where else should i be. there where i am needed more than ever before. there in a house that was never their home. there in the place which even the walls cannot encapsulate. there where the sea was never a stranger. there where i feel no fear.

there.

I am from there. I am from here.
I am not there and I am not here.
I have two names, which meet and part,
and I have two languages,
I forget which of them I dream in.
— Mahmoud Darwish
2 Comments

  1. There’s a part of me that dies with every other person dying there, a part of me that longs to do something for them; to be a part of their struggle. To be a part of them, to be different and not indifferent, to heal something somehow.
    With those collective parts does this Ummah become an entire body; aching together, feeling together.
    May there be peace, and may there be a way.

    Reply

Leave a reply

